D.I.Y RACER FRONT BOX TOP

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAIt’s been a long while since my last D.I.Y. Been wanting to try this ever since I saw it on Love Aesthetics, that’s right, wholly inspired by her. Ain’t taking the credit for such a wonderful idea; Ivania used real leather which I’ve serious difficulty in finding both good quality & price reasonable ones, thus I turned to the mighty land of TB & bought PU leather instead. Got it at a really cheap price from the seller here. Now I’m tempted to get more & churn out more D.I.Y ideas! Elaborated more on the steps below.

You'll need: PU Leather, Racer Front Top, Scissors, Pen, Thread & Needle.

You’ll need: PU Leather, Racer Front Top, Scissors, Pen, Thread & Needle.

1. Trace the shape of the racer front top, leaving a few centiemtres of space.

1. Trace the shape of the racer front top, leaving a few centiemtres of space.

2. Cut half of the PU leather as traced.

2. Cut half of the PU leather as traced.

3. To achieve symmetry, fold the half & cut the other side accordingly.

3. To achieve symmetry, fold the half & cut the other side accordingly.

4. Repeat the steps for the other piece except this time without the extra centimetres required.

4. Repeat the steps for the other piece except this time without the extra centimetres required.

5. Two identical pieces with one broader than another.

5. Two identical pieces with one broader than another.

6. Glue the excess PU leather in.

6. Glue the excess PU leather in.

7. Sew the edges (top & sides) together.

7. Sew the edges (top & sides) together.

8. The final look.

The final look.

I didn’t have the benefit of having a sewing machine thus having to hand sew the stitches, some may feel the exposed stitches are ugly but I’m perfectly alright with it, in fact I feel it gives the top another look. Ivania suggested having a little slit at the back for easy wearing as this top “has no stretch & will slit like a box around you”. It really depends on the size of your top as mine doesn’t have the slit & yet it’s still easily worn for me, especially love the structured box effect. Initially my top wasn’t cut in enough to be a racer front so I had to trim & sew again. It still looks less racer than what I wanted, thinking if I should trim it a little more. What do you think?

Leave a Reply

