ERNEST ZACHAREVIC

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERATop: from Bangkok | Jeans, clutch: R.I.B | Heels: Taobao

Never fails to pass by these shop houses each time I make my way to the library, then one day I realised the addition of drawings on them. Of course I first noticed the giant girl, you can’t miss it if you saw how huge it is. Slowly I noticed the smaller ones down the row of shop houses; some might say it’s graffiti but it’s definitely art to me. Believe it or not but I was smiling to myself in the bus when it passed by, love how the plain walls are used as a canvas which adds so much more vibrance to the surroundings. Not long later I came across the drawings & interview in a magazine, turns out these were drawn by an artist from Lithuania, none other than Zacharevic.

The first drawing was supposed to be a series of three windows but he was chased away by the ‘shop owner’, leaving only a third of it done. Silly me thinking that Singaporeans have finally learnt to appreciate the arts. I honestly wonder how many people actually notice the  drawings when they pass by, be it on the bus/ walking by. Perhaps what’s in the phone is more interesting to them after all.

Do check out his other works here!

Leave a Reply

