ANOTHER CHAPTER OPENS

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA9171208Top: Taobao | Pants: ASOS | Jacket: FashionToAny | Shoes: Zara | Bag: Pedro

Today is Yesterday was a special day; the day where I officially signed my way into the working world. During my last semester I decided to pursue my passion thus despite studying Finance, I aimed to work in a fashion firm. Of course I didn’t want to let my business degree go to waste, I mean after all I spent four years and thousands on the paper, so I got to know about Retail Operations and pretty much think it’s the job for me. Honestly there aren’t many companies that offer a Management Trainee programme and even so, I’ve been super picky because I wanted to work for a brand I like and can relate to. Many a times people say fresh graduates can’t choose but I say, you can!

The journey wasn’t a smooth sailing one, especially so when your peers are all securing jobs even before graduation and already earning. And there will always be people around you who ask you to just take up any job rather than waiting for the right one. But I’m glad I waited. I would be lying if I say I never once felt pessimistic. There’s bound to be such period and I’m glad for those who stood by me (you know who you are). Eventually I got the job I wanted, in fact it was what I initially planned all along. Though the pay’s lower than what most earn, it is what I want and I know I’ll be happy working in an environment I like as opposed to hating my job even if it pays more.

After all these, it just makes me more certain that if it’s meant to be, it’ll be. Things do happen for a reason. Don’t you think so?

I learnt that life is a continuous process of finding ourselves through trial & error.

8 responses to “ANOTHER CHAPTER OPENS

  1. Congratulations! That’s fantastic news. And don’t worry if the pay is lower than you hoped- you’re on the way to a career that you’ve set your sights on, and you’ll reap the rewards in time. If I could turn back the clock I would have pursued fashion, but a course in pattern drafting put me off the idea for life, and I never thought of other avenues within the industry at the time. Can’t wait to hear more about your new life;)

    • Thank you so much Sonia, for your support and everything! Will definitely still update though it might decrease in frequency when work starts!

  2. Congrats dear! You look ready to take on the world with that sleek outfit of yours. They say if you love your job even when it pays lesser than a job you hate that pays a whole lot more, stick with the former. You’re on to a good start so keep your head up 🙂 xx

    missreverie | Fashionista NOW

  3. Hi there, came across your post via lookbook. I have also just graduated recently and am thinking of getting a job in the “fashion industry” but my degree (communications)/ diploma (hotel management) are not related. Sighhh feel so lost as a graduate now. :/ If it’s not rude to ask, what are you working as/at? Anyway, happy that things worked out for you. 🙂

    • Hi Esther! It’s perfectly normal to feel the way you’re feeling right now. I too was lost but if you really want it, go for it! Doesn’t matter if you’ve to start small, at least you know you’re on the right track to where you want to be. The fact is most people end up working in industries that are different from what they studied, so don’t feel bad about it! Am currently working at Pedro, the job’s a perfect fit to what I wanted so yupp, good things come to those who wait!

Leave a Reply

